Essex Librarians Read

Want to learn more about Essex librarians’ favorite books and genres? Scroll below to discover our favorite reads and recommendations for you!

Sue’s Suggestions | Jana’s Suggestions | Emily’s SuggestionsNorma’s Suggestions | Ann’s Suggestions | Anna’s Suggestions | Jessica’s Suggestions | Diane’s Suggestions | Richard’s Suggestions

Sue’s Suggestions:

  • Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking by Susan Cain Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking by Susan Cain
  • The Book of Joy by His Holiness the Dalai Lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu with Douglas Abrams The Book of Joy by His Holiness the Dalai Lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu with Douglas Abrams
  • Why Won't You Apologize by Hariet Lerner, Ph.D. Why Won't You Apologize by Hariet Lerner, Ph.D.
  • There is No Good Card for This by Kelsey Crowe, Ph.D. There is No Good Card for This by Kelsey Crowe, Ph.D.
  • Hiding in the Bathroom by Morra Aarons-Mele Hiding in the Bathroom by Morra Aarons-Mele
  • Find the Good: Unexpected Life Lessons from a Small-Town Obituary Writer by Heather Lende Find the Good: Unexpected Life Lessons from a Small-Town Obituary Writer by Heather Lende

Sue enjoys nonfiction. “Lately, one of my favorite genres is non-fiction: specifically focusing on self-awareness and mindfulness. I enjoy this genre because it helps me learn new things, and there are many unique topics to peruse. I have found that reading about mindfulness is particularly helpful in today’s often stressful world.

Jana’s Suggestions:

  • What the Living Do by Marie Howe What the Living Do by Marie Howe
  • Dream Work by Mary Oliver Dream Work by Mary Oliver
  • Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong
  • The World’s Wife By Carol Ann Duffy The World’s Wife By Carol Ann Duffy
  • Ordinary Beast By Nicole Sealey Ordinary Beast By Nicole Sealey
  • No Matter The Wreckage By Sarah Kay No Matter The Wreckage By Sarah Kay
  • Good Poems Edited by Garrison Keillor Good Poems Edited by Garrison Keillor

Poetry is one of Jana’s favorite genre. “Poets tend to have a quiet way of creating connection with their audience—there is this gentle resonating between poet and reader, bridged by shared experience. The genre is layered with this connection, this intimacy that is webbed across decades, and distance. These connections are quite unique to the genre of poetry, I find, and are also my favorite thing about it.

Emily’s Suggestions:

  • News of the World by Paulette Jiles News of the World by Paulette Jiles
  • The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick
  • The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
  • The Rosie Project by Graene Simsion The Rosie Project by Graene Simsion
  • Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons by Lorna Landvik Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons by Lorna Landvik
  • The Round House by Louise Erdrich The Round House by Louise Erdrich
  • Where'd You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple Where'd You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple
  • Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand

Photo of EmilyAlthough Emily reads across many genres, she frequently finds herself reading historical fiction. She continues,”The best historical fiction novels are those that inspire me to read more. From Leo Tolstoy to Peter Carey, and Beatriz Williams to Sebastian Barry, I’m bound to find one I’ll enjoy. When I need a lighter option, I tend to curl up with women’s literature or a cozy mystery. I also enjoy escaping with a great comedic memoir.”

Emily cites “Journey Fiction” as one of her favorite genres. She says, “After recently reading News of the World by Paulette Jiles, I realized how much I enjoy novels depicting a character who takes a journey. Recently, several wonderful books have been written about people, who through their travels, heal their own private wounds. I’m especially excited to read about a character unintentionally discovering another facet of his/her personality.

Norma’s Suggestions:

  • The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe
  • Insomnia by Stephen King Insomnia by Stephen King
  • The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien
  • Slavery by Another Name by Douglas Blackmon Slavery by Another Name by Douglas Blackmon
  • The Pit and the Pendulum by Edgar Allen Poe The Pit and the Pendulum by Edgar Allen Poe
  • The Color Purple by Alice Walker The Color Purple by Alice Walker
  • Ain't to Proud to Beg by Mark Ribowsky Ain't to Proud to Beg by Mark Ribowsky

Photo of Norma Norma grew up reading Agatha Christie, Nancy Drew, Edgar Allan Poe, the classics required in school, and fairy tales. The librarian adds, “I am more a reader by author than necessarily a genre. For example, I’ve read every Agatha Christie book written. The same is true of Toni Morrison and JRR Tolkien. I’ve read the Lord of the Rings at least three times. But I also enjoy Algernon Blackwood and Stephen King. On the flip side, I enjoy reading biographies and history, most particularly about England and Russia. Since I do family history, I find it important to read about US History particularly during the pre-Civil War era through Reconstruction.”

One of Norma’s favorite reading genres is “Macabre/Supernatural.” The librarian explains, “It may be a gruesome category, but most early works were not bad. Most, such as Poe and Blackwood, wrote in short story format. Stephen King takes it to another level.

Ann’s Suggestions:

  • Quite Enough of Calvin Trillin by Calvin Trillin Quite Enough of Calvin Trillin by Calvin Trillin
  • Don't Get Too Comfortable by David Rahoff Don't Get Too Comfortable by David Rahoff
  • Dress Your Family in Courduroy and Denim by David Sedaris Dress Your Family in Courduroy and Denim by David Sedaris
  • The Essays of E B White by E B White The Essays of E B White by E B White
  • How Did You Get This Number by Sloane Crosley How Did You Get This Number by Sloane Crosley
  • Arguably by Christopher Hitchens Arguably by Christopher Hitchens

Photo of AnnWhen discussing her reading preferences, Ann explains, “The books I enjoy most are those that transport me, even if only temporarily, because they have a felicity of language or memorable and richly detailed characters. Those books always end too quickly, regardless of the length. If the writing is really terrific, I’ll read it; it doesn’t matter what the genre is. I confess to seeking out good mysteries, especially ones with plausible twists that keep the solution obscure to the ending. Worse yet, I find books about gardens, garden design and interesting plant combinations virtually irresistible.”

Asked about her favorite genre, Ann responds, “One of my favorite genres after mysteries and gardening books is Essays. When a terrific writer holds court through an essay it is equally fascinating and delightful as any literature. In some ways, one gets to know an author better as a person through their essays by allowing the reader to know what is important and compelling to the author. And, of course, some humor is always a welcome element.

Anna’s Suggestions:

  • Simply Irresistible by Jill Shalvis Simply Irresistible by Jill Shalvis
  • Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt
  • A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare
  • Firelight by Kristen Callihan Firelight by Kristen Callihan
  • Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
  • Romancing Mister Bridgerton by Julia Quinn Romancing Mister Bridgerton by Julia Quinn
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  • Jane Eyre By Charlotte Bronte Jane Eyre By Charlotte Bronte

Photo of Anna Anna says, “My top three genres are romance (38%), mystery (12%), and classic literature (12%), but I’ve been reading more fantasy (9%) and science fiction (7%) lately. I also enjoy biography and history.” Expanding upon her favorite genres and books, Anna continues, “I read widely across genres, but well-written characters are essential. They don’t have to be likeable, but they must be convincing. I also love interesting and/or historical settings.

Anna cites “Romance” as one of her favorite genres, for as she explains: “I enjoy the development of a relationship between two people, and the security of knowing that no matter what happens, they will be happy together. Furthermore, there are romance novels for a reader’s every mood or preference, be it melancholy, whimsical, suspenseful, or speculative, and with thousands of novels published every year, the supply is nearly inexhaustible.

Jessica’s Suggestions:

  • Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell
  • The Stranger in the Woods by Michael Finkel The Stranger in the Woods by Michael Finkel
  • The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
  • Upstream: Selected Essays by Mary Oliver Upstream: Selected Essays by Mary Oliver
  • Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys
  • Small Wonder by Barbara Kingsolver Small Wonder by Barbara Kingsolver
  • I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Photo of JessJessica loves to learn something new, for as she states, “It’s empowering to read a book that can entice you to learn how to mend a shirt, change a tire or make a meal.” She additionally enjoys getting lost in the plot of a well-written story and is delighted to become engrossed in any form of great writing, from historical fiction to complete fantasy. Therefore, Jessica’s list of favorite genres includes historical fiction, fantasy, and non-fiction memoirs, essays and do-it-yourself reference.

“Nature” is one of Jessica’s favorite genres; she explains “I spent the majority of my childhood exploring the forest and visiting the ocean. As a way to further this relationship with the natural world, I’ve taken to any literature I can find that embodies it. I’m especially interested in ecosystems, animal behavior, and natural history. I most enjoy descriptive works of fiction, volumes of poetry, and factual accounts and do my best to use what I’ve learned through nature-based education strategies in our programming for young children. I hope to inspire the type of excitement surrounding wildlife and conservation that I experienced while growing up.”

Diane’s Suggestions:

  • Endless Summer Cookbook by Katy Lee Endless Summer Cookbook by Katy Lee
  • Barefoot Contessa at Home by Ina Garten Barefoot Contessa at Home by Ina Garten
  • Food, Gift, Love Food, Gift, Love
  • Silver Palate Cookbook by Julee Rosso Silver Palate Cookbook by Julee Rosso
  • The Messy Baker by Charmain Christie The Messy Baker by Charmain Christie
  • Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics by Ina Garten Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics by Ina Garten
  • Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • The Good Girl by Mary Kubica The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
  • The Life We Bury by Allen Eskens The Life We Bury by Allen Eskens

Photo of Diane Diane is drawn to psychological thrillers, but finds that a good mystery or love story will grab her attention as well. Expanding upon on her reading preferences, Diane says, “I like to be surprised by a story, any story, whether it’s mystery, love story or thriller. I enjoy the fast pace and unexpected twists and turns that draw me in and the anticipation of the final chapter where I can say…whoa! I didn’t see that coming! There’s a certain satisfaction in surviving that rollercoaster ride.

Diane names “Cooking” as one of her favorite genres, explaining, “At the end of a busy week, if I need ideas for a special meal or just to try something new, I love to curl up on my couch with a bunch of cookbooks. Just flipping through the pages inspires and relaxes me. I think like everyone I have my “go to” favorites, but enjoy seeking our new books as they are added to the library collection.”

Richard’s Suggestions:

  • The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk
  • Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
  • From Here to Eternity by James Jones From Here to Eternity by James Jones
  • A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O'Connor A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O'Connor
  • All the King's Men by Robert Penn Warren All the King's Men by Robert Penn Warren
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
  • East of Eden by John Steinbeck East of Eden by John Steinbeck
  • The Naked and the Dead by Norman Mailer The Naked and the Dead by Norman Mailer
  • The Living by Annie Dillard The Living by Annie Dillard
  • The Cider House Rules by John Irving The Cider House Rules by John Irving

Photo of RichardRichard enjoys contemporary fiction (particularly historical) written by American and British authors, American history, American and British “classics,” and for beach/vacation light reading, books by Elmore Leonard, Carl Hiassen, Ian Rankin or Patricia Cornwell.

Elaborating upon why these books and genres have become his favorites, Richard explains that while in college, “I was fortunate enough to take a few well taught courses that exposed me to the work of authors such as William Dean Howells, Frank Norris, John Dos Passos, James T. Farrell, and James Jones who were major literary lights in their day but are now relatively obscure. The common thread among them is that they wrote about what their contemporary world (ranging from the late 19th to mid – 20th centuries) was like. They were neither historians nor cultural anthropologists. Rather, they attempted to use fiction to describe their times as opposed to simply making up a good story out of pure imagination. Tom Wolfe and Jonathan Franzen are two examples of authors that I feel employ the same style today.

When asked to name his favorite genre, Richard responds, “My taste in genres is rather eclectic, but one that I find particularly interesting is mid-twentieth century American literature – particularly the post-World War II era.  This was a time when the writing done by many authors was deeply informed by the effects on our culture of the aftermath of two major wars, an extreme economic depression, and the advent of the possibility of the world literally coming to an end through the use of nuclear weapons.

You can discover more books our librarians are reading by accessing our “Staff Reads” Pinterest boards.