What to Read Next

The Essex Library offer numerous ways for you to discover new books, series and genres. This page is dedicated to helping you find what you want to read next!

Click for more information: Essex Librarians Read | Essex Library Newsletter |  Just Arrived  | Book Group Selections | Essex Library Blogs  | Readers’ Advisory WebsitesAsk us!

Essex Librarians Read:

  • Anna's Suggestions Anna's Suggestions
  • Jessica's Suggestions Jessica's Suggestions
  • Diane's Suggestions Diane's Suggestions
  • Richard's Suggestions Richard's Suggestions
  • Claire's Suggestions Claire's Suggestions
  • Val's Suggestions Val's Suggestions
  • Amy's Suggestions Amy's Suggestions
  • Emily's Suggestions Emily's Suggestions
  • Norma's Suggestions Norma's Suggestions
  • Ann's Suggestions Ann's Suggestions
  • Heather's Suggestions Heather's Suggestions

You can discover more books our librarians are reading by accessing our “Staff Reads” Pinterest boards. To view all the Essex Library Pinterest boards, please click here.

Essex Library Newsletter

What to Read Next?

Each month the Essex Library publishes a newsletter highlighting monthly staff reading suggestions, book group choices, library services and collections, and how to find more information online.To access our latest edition, the May 2017 edition, please click here.

To view the the April 2017 newsletter, please click here.
To view the March 2017 newsletter, please click here.
To view the February 2017 newsletter, please click here.
To view the January 2017 newsletter, please click here.

Just Arrived

adult book imageAdults’ Books

View the latest titles added to our Adult Collection by clicking here to access our “New Release Alerts” web page.

 

 

teens' booksTeens’ Books

Please click here to see the latest additions to the Essex Library’s Teen section.

 

 

children's booksChildren’s Books

To learn which new books have been added to the Children’s Department, please click here.

 

 

Essex Library Book Group Selections

book groupBook Groups

The Essex Library hosts six book groups, focusing on topics ranging from “Great Plays” to “American History.” To view the groups’ latest selections and learn when each group will meet, visit the Essex Library Book Group web page by clicking here.

 

Essex Library Blogs

wordpress-logo-30-blueThe Shortlist Blog

The blog which provides “millions of reasons to read and enjoy the Essex Library…one at a time.” To access the blog, please click here.

weebly 30 x 30Teenspace Blog

The online library teen space for young adults. Here you will find resources for information and research, program memos, a gallery of photos and videos, book links and more. To view this blog, please click here.

 

Readers’ Advisory Websites

BookBrowse: https://www.bookbrowse.com/
BookBrowse is an online magazine for booklovers – including reviews, previews, “behind the book” backstories, author interviews, reading guides, and much more.

LibraryReads: http://libraryreads.org/ 
LibraryReads primary purpose is to help connect librarians’ favorite books to as many readers as possible! Additionally, the site showcases the incredible power that public library staff has in helping to building word-of-mouth for new books, as well as the important role librarians play in creating audiences for authors.

LibraryThing: https://www.librarything.com/
LibraryThing allows you to catalog your books from Amazon, the Library of Congress and 1051 other libraries, catalog your movies and music, find new books to read, discuss what you love with other committed bibliophiles, track and lend your books, and snag a book from over 2000 early-release books every month.

What Should I Read Next?: http://www.whatshouldireadnext.com/
What should I Read Next allows you to enter a book you like so the site can analyze its huge database of real readers’ favorite books to provide specific book recommendations and suggestions.

Ask Us!

Ask a QuestionAsk A Librarian

You are always welcome to ask for our help in choosing your next book selection. Please visit us at the front desk or give us a call at 860-767-1560. We look forward to hearing from you!